My Crazy Life, The Culture Tag

“This one time, at band camp..”

Not quite band camp, but it just seemed like quite a fitting title.


I’M OFF TO AMERICA GUYS!

On my own. I’ve never flown before. I’ve never even been away from home for more than two weeks. I’ve already got a nervous tummy and I still need to squeeze a power nap in before we leave for the airport!

SO MUCH TO THINK ABOUT!

In The Culture Tag, I’ve been exploring different ideas about travelling, acquiring knowledge and becoming more worldly. I think I’ve mentioned before that I’d applied for Camp America but don’t think I went into great detail about it – this experience will be the concluding chapter to my lil project and may just be my biggest adventure yet.

I’m all packed and will be setting off imminently for Heathrow. I’m dressed in my activewear (obvs) and have packed PLENTY of anti-diarrhoeal tablets. I think I’m prepared for every eventuality lol.

My suitcase is nearly the size of me and my hand luggage is probably on the larger side too (stuffed too many self help books in it to read on the plane). I’ve never been a light traveller so there’s no point in starting now.

I’m rambling.

On another note, I’ve been so active recently on my blog and I think it’s really paid off. I just wanted to take this time to say how thankful I am for the people who follow my blog and listen to me witter on endlessly. Just know I haven’t abandoned you all! I shall just be living frugally in the middle of nowhere on a Girl Scout camp instead. No phones. Limited internet. NO BOYS. It’ll be a change, but a good one, I think. I get called a princess a lot at home so hopefully it’ll knock me down a peg or two.

As much as I’m super, super scared, I’m so excited about this new chapter in my life. I’ve left my job at boots to do this over the summer after four whole years. It was the last thing holding me back and was a large part of my life to let go of – but I promised my ex colleague (still feels weird saying that) that I won’t look back.

I’m so glad that so far in 2017, I’ve tried my hardest to keep to my New Years resolution to do adventurous and exciting things more often. I don’t think you can get more daring than abandoning your entire way of life for nearly three months.

So I guess that’s all I really have to say! I’ll see you all when I get back (and after a few pit stops in NY and Disney World) ๐Ÿ˜

Ta ta for now,

Tilly Turnip xo

Leave a Reply

