Uncategorized

Obsessed with Hannah Witton

hannahwitton-4

SOURCE: https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=hannah+witton&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwj8oqGnkuDTAhXqCcAKHdV4D_sQ_AUICigB&biw=1366&bih=662#imgrc=qrWovqAjV2n0QM:

As a novice blogger, I’ve read and watched Hannah Witton for a while now and have decided to make an appreciation post because not only do our interests correlate pretty darn well – I believe that she stands for everything that blogging and using the internet in general as a platform should be about in 2017.

For starters, she shares general advice in the exact, friendly tone that I want to encapsulate in this blog. In particular, I love her post, ‘I am stressed right now‘, in which she relates a lot to uni and popular culture – something that has literally taken over my life a since studying literature, social theories and everything in between. Hannah’s writing style is informal and conversational – it’s like she’s unloading her problems to a friend and she’s using her blog as an outlet in order to rant, much like I do in My Crazy Life section of my blog. I’ve also created my own list of ideas on how to keep yourself on task, like Hannah did in How I Stay Organised – you can look at it by clicking here 🙂

Hannah likes to document her travels in a diary-style format – which I really love. It gives you not only an insight into her amazing lifestyle as a YouTuber, but also takes you to places that, if you’re like me and are very poor, won’t get to see any time soon. I recently uploaded a post divulging into an old school friend’s travel blog as part of The Culture Tag, so if you want to hear me ramble on that, have a look here 🙂

Writing a teenage or YA book is something that I’ve always told myself that I must do in my lifetime. Its been an ambition of mine from a very early age and when I eventually get to the point that I actually think I have a decent synopsis, I can envision my life turning very much into the way Hannah describes hers did in her post – ‘What it’s like writing a book‘. Hannah has recently done just that and written Doing It: Let’s Talk About Sex – I’ve only just had chance to buy it on Amazon and I’m SO looking forward to reading it!

The most important reason why I see Hannah’s blog as something to model mine on is because she is utilising her platform and status as an online ‘influencer’ to speak out on social issues – her main project is combating the inadequacies of sex education through The Hormone Diaries and is actively promoting change in every and any way that she can. I see blogging platforms such as WordPress and Blogspot as great ways to showcase all of the different aspects of your personality, but ultimately still contribute something to wider society – in my case, it’s The Culture Tag – check it out if you haven’t already!

Hannah’s book has only just come out and is already a bestseller – people are using her work as an educational tool to become more informed in the realms of ‘sexting, virginity and consent’. The whole reason she was able to write this book was because of the work that she had undertaken on her YouTube channel and blog beforehand! Also, as a co-founder of the Banging Book Club – a fortnightly podcast discussing books about sex – Hannah is collaboratively using her popularity as a YouTuber and blogger to promote reading to a whole generation that probably wouldn’t think about picking up a book if they were bored (which is quite a few of us, I believe). I’ll actually be looking at the Banging Book Club as part of my dissertation – an exciting and petrifying thought as it will be all done, dusted and submitted this time next year – wow 😮

So that’s why I love Hannah Witton! She’s honestly fab, and in the very unlikely circumstance that you haven’t seen any of her content, have a look at her YouTube channel and be sure to visit her website to see what the hype is about!

Tilly Turnip xox

Leave a Reply

